Digital Imaging

Past Photos

Hi! My name is Naomi Bastian, and this is my second semester at BYU-Idaho. Before BYU-I, I took classes at Edmonds Community College in Washington and then transferred here. I am majoring in Web Design with an emphasis in Design. I love art, books, and films, and I’m looking forward to learning more about photography in this class. I have taken quite a few graphic design classes and I am fairly familiar with the Adobe programs, but I don’t have any practical experience with photography. I really enjoy graphic design and vector graphics, but being able to take my own photographs will be extremely useful, especially for a potential future in freelance graphic design.

Naomi
Personal Photo

I would like to learn how to actually compose photos and find good photo opportunities, although I would also like to learn how to take portrait pictures. The last time I tried to take pictures was at Emerald City Comicon at the beginning of April, and I very quickly realized that I had no real idea how to take professional pictures. So, hopefully this course will be an introduction to professional photography, and I will be able to learn the basics of photography and working with better cameras than the one in my iPod.

NaomiBastian-Supers
Deadpool, Star-Lord, and Thor (Marvel)
NaomiBastian-MadMax
Nux, Immortan Joe, and Max (Mad Max: Fury Road)
NaomiBastian-Immortan
Immortan Joe (Mad Max: Fury Road)
NaomiBastian-Buzz
Buzz Lightyear (Toy Story)
NaomiBastian-Luna2
Luna Lovegood (Harry Potter)
NaomiBastian-Luna1
Deadpool, Star-Lord, and Thor (Marvel)

These photos were all taken at Emerald City Comicon at the Washington State Convention Center in Seattle on April 9th, 2016. To play up the nature of these cosplays, I went for bright, cinematic edits. I edited the levels, the brightness and contrast, the vibrance, and the shadows and highlights. Since the weather was so good, the lighting was phenomenal (if a little bright) and outside pictures were an absolute pleasure to shoot. All of the edits were made using Photoshop.

And here’s one more for the road:

outside

 

Leave a Reply

