Digital Imaging

Motion: Freeze and Blur

Allow me to preface this post by saying that I am a very inexperienced photographer, and this was my first time not only creating photographic opportunities, but also capturing images with a DSLR camera. I used a Canon T3i camera kit to take these photos, and used Adobe Photoshop to edit the images.  I did, however, enjoy using a tripod and a DSLR for the first time, and I’m looking forward to creating much better images in the future.

Before taking these photos, I created a short list of photo opportunities so that I could play with the two different effects. I thought taking pictures of blowing out a candle, a lightsaber fight, throwing water or using water guns, blowing bubbles, throwing a ball, dropping objects, using a hair dryer, or steam rising from a pot would provide ample opportunities for using frozen motion and blurred motion. I was limited in my options of settings, so I decided to use props instead to capture motion (and my very helpful roommates).

Frozen Motion 1
Fabric Motion–5/3/2016, 1:06 PM, My Apartment–18 mm–f/3.5–1/800–Camera: Natural lighting

I edited the Brightness and Contrast, Levels, Shadows and Highlights, and Color Balance on this photo with Photoshop.

Frozen Motion 2
Lightsaber Motion–5/3/2016, 11:30 AM, Centre Square–18 mm–f/4–1/800–Camera: Natural lighting and tripod

For this photo, I edited the Color Balance, the Levels, the Brightness and Contrast, and the Shadows and Highlights.

Blur Motion 1
Hairdryer Blur–5/3/2016, 12:51 PM, My Apartment–18 mm–f/16–1/5–Camera: Flash

I edited the Color Balance, the Levels, Brightness and Contrast, and also the Shadows and Highlights.

Blur Motion 2
Steam Blur–5/3/2016, 12:55 PM, My Apartment–18 mm– f/14–1/4–Camera: Flash

For this last shot, I edited the Shadows and Highlights and the levels.

Thanks for viewing my first experience with a DSLR camera!

1 thought on “Motion: Freeze and Blur”

Leave a Reply

