Digital Imaging

Depth: Deep & Shallow

This week, I also used a Canon T3i camera kit to take the photos this week, and again used Adobe Photoshop to make minor edits to the pictures. For all the pictures, I edited the Levels and Brightness and Contrast. I also used the Healing Brush to remove the landscaping flags that were obnoxiously prominent in the deep depth shots. This week’s photography excursions went much better.  I was able to fix the exposure on my camera and take much better pictures to fit the requirements of this week.

Most of the pictures were taken on the BYU-Idaho Campus, during a fairly severe windstorm. This made the photography very exciting, because I would focus the picture while the wind was busy blowing my hair into my face, and then take the picture with my eyes covered with hair and hope for the best! For the picture of my desk, I arranged my belongings on my desk and took pictures hoping to capture shallow depth and precise focus. I had to turn the ISO up to 400 for these pictures to capture the natural light in my room without having to use the flash, since using a flash indoors can warp and distort pictures.

Snuggle Bugs
Snuggle Bugs–5/9/2016, 3:52 PM, BYU-I Campus–18 mm–f/5.6–1/100–Camera: Natural lighting

The ladybugs were very obligingly still, which was good because nothing else at the time was being still for the pictures! This was my favorite picture that I took for this assignment, mostly because of the choice circumstances that led to it.

Shadow Play
Shadow Play–5/9/2016, 3:59 PM, BYU-I Campus–18 mm–f/4.5–1/640–Camera: Natural lighting

I took this picture in a shadier spot of campus. I loved the way that the light played across the background and added to the blur.

Desk Portrait
Desk Portrait–5/10/2016, 11:23 AM, Centre Square Apartments–18 mm–f/5.6–1/15–Camera: Natural lighting

For this picture, I arranged the items on my desk so that they’d look better in a picture. I wanted to change things up and take a picture with selective focus where there was a lot more going on in the background.

Spori
Spori–5/9/2016, 3:47 PM, BYU-I Campus–18 mm–f/18–1/40–Camera: Natural lighting

I took this picture from the steps of the McKay library. I wanted a wide depth shot that had a central focus to it, where both the background and the foreground were in focus.

McKay
McKay–5/9/2016, 4:03 PM, BYU-I Campus–18 mm–f/20–1/40–Camera: Natural lighting

For this shot, I wanted a deep depth shot where the building went across the entire field of vision. I wanted the eye to be drawn to the center, without making the building the central focus as in the picture of the Spori. I think the two different techniques highlight both buildings in different ways.

Thanks for looking at my pictures! I hope you enjoy seeing how I am learning!

5 thoughts on “Depth: Deep & Shallow”

  1. Naomi,

    I thought you did a great job with deep and shallow depth of field. I particularly enjoyed the last photo that you took on campus for deep depth of field. I felt like everything was in focus and the image itself was visually appealing! I also like the second image, with the tree trunk in focus and the blurry back ground. I like how you explored on campus and were able to find some cool photos!

    Feel free to check out my blog ( I’ll have all the photo’s posted this evening!): https://petersonnatalie.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. Naomi, I really like your photos that you took on campus. I tried taking photos of campus and they didn’t turn out as well as yours. Maybe I just don’t know how to photograph buildings very well. 🙂

    You seem to understand depth of field really well! I was talking to Brother Miller and he said that sometimes people have a hard time with deep depth of field – you do not seem to have that problem. Great job!
    Jesse also took some photos on campus, check it out https://jessesmidt.wordpress.com/2016/05/11/focus-depth-deep-shallow/

    Like

  3. Nice work on these! I like perspective that took with the trees and angle that you shot from on the deep depth of field pictures. I like the greens and the subtle vibrancy that the Spori picture has and the red of the ladybug in the first tree pic. (On a random side note, I like that the second tree pic kind of looks like a person 🙂 haha). I like that with the Spori picture you didn’t take it head on and that you took it slightly from the side, I think it makes it more interesting and engaging.

    Check out James blog, he also took some cool deep depth of field photos https://jamesbogden.wordpress.com/2016/05/11/depth-of-field/

    Like

Leave a Reply

